Metaphor of me

I am a paintbrush,

tangible and present yet I can create masterpieces,

that only exist in my mind.

I am gentle and delicate as I glide across my canvas; my life.

I am light at heart as I am at hand

I am willing to make “mistakes” because they add to the beauty of it all.

I am capable of letting go of the past as I wash away faded pigments.

I guide each stroke with a hopeful flick in hand, as I form paths with the colors of my soul.

I create life with each movement of my being.

I dab optimistic colors when the canvas grows dull.

I bring various shades of black and white, to add a blend.

But when black consumes all colors, white masks the darkness of life.

Creating a balance of gray, is the peace within.

I tend to absorb bright colors naturally; gleaming.

 I never limit myself, for the canvas can always be manipulated.

I try new mediums in this art to create uniqueness and chance.

I support creations within peoples minds, as they develop.

I am able to hold a voice to those left unspoken.

For I am crafted with love and care.

You may brush me off and not see my significance

but once you see the beauty I can create

you will think again my dear.

~

2 Thoughts.

  1. Dear Alisha,
    I remember working a little bit on this with you and I am amazed at where it ended up. I think this is such a cool comparison and your description left me with such a wonderful image. I never would have thought to use a paintbrush as my metaphor but you made it work in such an incredibly organic and natural way. I think this style of writing works really well for you. For next time try to vary your vocabulary a little.
    -Madi C

  2. Dear Alisha,
    I absolutely loved reading your metaphor! The words you used and how you showed every aspect of a paintbrush. I love the line, “You may brush me off and not see my significance” because I can totally relate to that. Initially, we think of paintbrushes as just objects and we don’t realize the depth that paintbrushes hold. I think writing in this style works really well for you, and I’m not much into metaphors, but I enjoyed reading yours! For next time, try to not use too much of the same words in your work, but other than that keep up the good work!

    Sincerely,
    – Daania

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar